NRA Publications Announces 2023 Golden Bullseye Award Winners; Bill Wilson Earns Pioneer Award

Now in their 20th year, the NRA Golden Bullseyes represent the best of the best.

by posted on December 19, 2022
Golden Bullseye 23

NRA Publications’ 2023 Golden Bullseye Awards—now in their 21st year—have been announced. The Golden Bullseye Awards recognize the firearm industry’s top products as voted on by NRA Publications editors.

The awards are selected by the editorial staffs of four of NRA Publications’ properties through a rigorous evaluation process, and they are each reviewed by NRA Publications’ management. “A big thank you to the NRA Publications editorial staff who literally tested hundreds of new products before making their 2023 Golden Bullseye selections,” said NRA Publications Executive Director Doug Hamlin. This year’s Golden Bullseye Awards are even more noteworthy as American Rifleman, “the World’s Oldest and Largest Firearm Authority,” is celebrating its 100th anniversary. This year also marks the 50th year of publication of NRA’s American Hunter magazine, the world’s largest circulation hunting magazine. Golden Bullseyes are also awarded by NRA’s most contemporary Official Journal, Shooting Illustrated, as well as by NRA Publication’s fastest-growing web property,

“The NRA Golden Bullseye Awards epitomize what NRA members seek in their shooting and hunting equipment—outstanding performance, innovation and value,” Hamlin continued. “These are the best new products, truly worthy of NRA Member’s attention, and I extend my heartfelt congratulations to all this year’s winners.”

To qualify for consideration for a Golden Bullseye Award, the product must have been:

  • Recently introduced and available to consumers prior to the selection of the Golden Bullseye Awards
  • Used/tested by a staff member or regular contributor to the magazine and/or affiliated media
  • Reliable in the field, meeting or exceeding the evaluator’s expectations
  • Innovative in design and function
  • Readily perceived as a value to the purchaser
  • Styled in a manner befitting the shooting and hunting industry and, perhaps more importantly, its enthusiasts.

Whereas the Golden Bullseye Award acknowledges the finest products available in the shooting sports, the Golden Bullseye Pioneer Award specifically honors outstanding personal achievement. The Pioneer Award spotlights the exemplary achievement and cumulative body of work of an individual, or members of a family, team or partnership, responsible for the development and introduction of shooting equipment that has made a profound, positive and enduring impact on the way Americans shoot and hunt.

“Also, my heartfelt congratulations to Pioneer Award honoree Bill Wilson from Wilson Combat. I have known Bill personally for more than 30 years,” said Hamlin, “and his standard for producing world class custom firearms is unparalleled."

The 2023 Golden Bullseye Awards will be presented in person at an invitation-only event during the 2023 NRA Annual Meetings & Exhibits in Indianapolis, Ind., and will include recognition of Pioneer Award Winner Bill Wilson, founder and owner of Wilson Combat.

2023 Golden Bullseye Awards

2023 Pioneer Award 
Bill Wilson, Owner, Wilson Combat

American Rifleman 2023 Golden Bullseye Award

  • Rifle of the Year                      Marlin 1895 SBL
  • Handgun of the Year               Smith & Wesson CSX
  • Shotgun of the Year                Benelli 28 Gauge Super Black Eagle 3
  • Optic of the Year                     Sightmark Wraith 4K Mini
  • Ammunition of the Year         Remington Core-Lokt Tipped
  • Tactical Product of the Year   Springfield Armory Hellion
  • Accessory of the Year             Silencer Central Banish 46

American Hunter 2023 Golden Bullseye Awards

  • Rifle of the Year                      Nosler Model 21
  • Shotgun of the Year                Mossberg 940 Pro Waterfowl
  • Handgun of the Year               Savage 110 PCS
  • Ammunition of the Year         Hornady 7 mm Precision Rifle Cartridge (PRC)
  • Optic of the Year                     Tract Toric UHD 30mm 2.5-15x44 FFP Hunting Rifle Scope
  • Gear of the Year                     ALPS Outdoorz Elite Frame and Pack System

Shooting Illustrated 2023 Golden Bullseye Awards

  • Rifle of the Year                     Springfield Armory Saint Edge ATC
  • Handgun of the Year              Taurus Executive Grade 856
  • Shotgun of the Year               Savage Renegauge Security
  • Ammunition of the Year         Federal Premium 30 Super Carry
  • Optic of the Year                    Leupold Patrol 6HD
  • Accessory of the Year             Fix-It-Sticks Compact Ratcheting Multitool

NRA Women 2023 Golden Bullseye Awards





Remington Shoot To Cure
Remington Shoot To Cure

Remington Announces 3rd Annual Shoot to Cure Fundraiser

The event brings together the outdoor industry, local Arkansas businesses and professional shooters from Team Remington.

The Armed Citizen® July 12, 2024

It did not go well for a man who forced his way into a home armed with a handgun and threatened the two people inside. 

SCIF, Sables and New Mexico Dept. of Game Collaborate on Learn-to-Hunt Program

SCI Foundation Education Dept., SCI's Sables, New Mexico Dept. of Game and Fish, and Silverline Productions have produced a "first duck hunt" promotional video.

Troubleshooting .223-Cal. Rifle Ammo

Here are a few things you should know about the .223—and issues commonly associated with it.

Yackley Family Competes at the Vortex Cup Polish IPSC Rifle National Championship

NRA Women contributor Becky Yackley finished second overall in the Lady’s division, and her son Sean placed ninth in the semi-auto standard division.

What’s the Difference: .45 ACP and .45 Colt?

Though they both start with the same number, don’t be fooled: These two cartridges are not interchangeable.

Women's Interests

Get the best of NRA Women delivered to your inbox.